Sunday, May 03, 2009

Tata Sons

Tata Sons is a promoter of the key companies of the Tata Group and holds the bulk of shareholding in these companies.

It was established as a trading enterprise by Group founder Jamsetji Tata in 1868.

The chairman of Tata Sons has traditionally been the chairman of the Tata Group.

Tata Sons is the owner of the Tata name and the Tata trademark, which are registered in India and several other countries. These are used by various Tata companies in relation to their products and services. The terms of use of the Group mark and logo by Tata companies are governed by the Brand Equity and Business Promotion Agreement, which is signed by Tata Sons and individual Group companies.

About 66 per cent of the equity capital of Tata Sons is held by philanthropic trusts endowed by members of the Tata family. The biggest two of these trusts are the Sir Dorabji Tata Trust and the Sir Ratan Tata Trust, which were created by the families of the sons of Jamshedji Tata.

The company is registered and located in Mumbai, India.

Tata Sons, Bombay House 24, Homi Mody Street Fort, Mumbai 400 001 India.

Board of directors:-
Ratan Tata, chairman
Noshir A Soonawala, vice chairman
Ishaat Hussain, finance director
R Gopalakrishnan, executive director
Arun R Gandhi, executive director
Alan Rosling, executive director
Farrokh K Kavarana
Syamal Gupta
Jamshed J. Irani
RK Krishna Kumar
Pallonji Mistry
Cyris Mistry, younger son of Pallonji Mistry, the yougest director of Tata Sons till date